安妮·萨默斯最心仪的五大澳洲旅游胜地 Anne Summers – My Top 5 Places in Australia

安妮·萨默斯(Anne Summers)可谓是女权主义者、记者、作家、编辑和出版商中的先锋者。

由于家庭暴力的问题现在也位于国家的议程之上,我们很容易就会想到41年前,安妮·萨默斯带头进入悉尼一幢废弃的高楼,并和他人共同成立了艾希(Elsie)女性收容所,这也是澳大利亚第一家女性收容所。

后来,她再一次在她的《可恶妓女和上帝警察》(Damned Whores and God’s Police)一书中为女性发言。这本书于1975年出版,现已成为经典之作。

在1983至1986年期间,安妮在女性地位办公室(现为女性办公室)担任领导性的要职,当时任职的总理是鲍勃

Anne Summers Australian Legends Stamp

·霍克(Bob Hawke)。安妮也曾担任过总理保罗·基廷(Paul Keating)的顾问。

在倡导女性平等方面安妮做出了非凡的贡献。2011年,她被授予“澳大利亚传奇奖项”(Australian Legends Award),进入了“伟大澳大利亚人”的排行榜,她的照片还被印在了特殊纪念邮票上。

由于安妮对女性和新闻工作的贡献,她在1989年被选为澳大利亚勋章(Order of Australia)官员。

安妮一共出版了8本书。在她最近出版的一本名为《厌女元素》(Misogyny Factor)书中,安妮对性别歧视和厌女倾向进行了分析,这两个元素阻碍了女性融入社会、享受平等和尊敬的权利。

 

安妮的五大澳洲旅游胜地

 

Bouddi National Park - Bulimah Spur track - photo John Yurasek

Bouddi National Park – Bulimah Spur track – photo John Yurasek

维哥斯达夫(Wagstaffe)和波蒂(Bouddi)半岛  Wagstaffe and the Bouddi peninsula

位于新南威尔士州中部的海滩,这片小小的半岛就这样闲散着等着游客前去发现它的美。从海湾放眼望去,波蒂国家公园(Bouddi National Park)是它的背景,海边零零散散的小屋和多种多样的鸟类动物,所有的一切都是你从未领略过的。你还想让笑翠鸟加入你的鸡尾酒派对吗?那么赶紧打开瓶盖吧!

 

 

 

Palm Cove

Palm Cove

棕榈湾 Palm Cove

棕榈湾位于凯恩斯以南30公里的北昆士兰地区,这里是度假的传统胜地。棕榈湾的房屋不能高于古老的千层属灌木(Melaleucas),因为早在库克船长到达这片地方补给供水的时候,他就对这种植物表示了感激之情。这里还有质量上乘的餐厅,很不幸的是价格也不便宜。虽然由于水中植物的原因,一年大多数的时间你都不能在这里游泳,但是不管是白天还是夜晚,一天中的任何时候你都可以在海滩上散步。

 

 

Sydney - photo Hamilton Lund

Sydney – photo Hamilton Lund

悉尼  Sydney

四十年前,我第一次来到这座令人炫目的城市,日后虽然经常在像是纽约这样的都市生活,我还是常常流连于悉尼。这是一座充满活力的城市,多元的人口和文化使得一切皆有可能。和任何大城市一样,这里会发生不好的事情,但是和美好的事情相比,一切显得是那么的微不足道。悉尼的自然美景和城市环境是很多地方都无法比拟的,每个角落都有意想不到的风光。

 

 

 

 

Port Arthur guards 1866 - ALMFA,SLT

Port Arthur guards 1866 – ALMFA,SLT

亚瑟港  Port Arthur

这里诉说着我们历史中一段黑暗的时期。这是一片关押澳大利亚早期犯人的流放地,这里有过无法想象的残忍,在1996年也发生过大规模的枪击案。这里的监狱和包括专门为囚犯设计的小教堂在内的周围相关建筑都完整无损地保留了下来。

 

 

 

 

Port Arthur, Tasmania - photo Giovanni Portelli

Port Arthur, Tasmania – photo Giovanni Portelli

 

但亚瑟港同时也是一片风景秀丽、郁郁葱葱的土地,周围流淌着平静的湖水。没有哪个澳大利亚的地方可以像亚瑟港那样把Dorothea Mackellar的句子体现地那般生动,真的可谓是“她的美丽和她的可怕共存”(her beauty and her terror)。

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Australian War Memorial

The Australian War Memorial

堪培拉  Canberra

不同于其它澳大利亚城市的风光,堪培拉是个独特的地方,这里有着这个国家珍贵的遗迹。每个人在他们的一生中至少要来一次这里,看看澳大利亚国家美术馆、国家肖像美术馆、澳大利亚国家图书馆、澳大利亚博物馆、澳大利亚民主博物馆和战争纪念馆。这些地方并不是庸俗的展馆,他们珍藏着的是我们这个国家历史和文化中最宝贵的东西。

 

 

 

旅游小贴士:

 

*总是在包里放一本有趣的书,因为你永远不会知道旅途中会有多少等待的时间。也要保持电量充足。

 

*轻装上阵。在旅行的时候真的没有必要带很多的衣物,大包小包的去旅行绝对不是一个明智之举。对于我来说,如果是三周的旅行,我所带的只不过是一个小的随身拖轮箱。

 

*旅行是件开心的事情,所以不要紧张。及时到达机场后来一杯咖啡或者鸡尾酒。离开澳大利亚之后,其他城市的机场也是你可以花时间好好探索的地方,像是阿姆斯特丹的史基浦机场(Schiphol),那里还展出来自当地国家博物馆的珍宝。

 

*旅行的时候一定要穿得舒适,一切从简。想想我们现在的旅行方式,即使是要乘坐24小时的经济舱,也比我们的祖先要长时间的漂洋过海舒服的多!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Also available in: 英语

Anne Summers – My Top 5 Places in Australia

Anne Summers AO can be described as someone who is always in the vanguard as a feminist, journalist, author, editor and publisher.

Now that the issue of domestic violence is on the national agenda, we recall that 41 years ago, Anne Summers lead the charge into an abandoned building in Sydney and co-founded Elsie, the first women’s refuge in Australia.

She again led the way in her revelatory and now classic book Damned Whores and God’s Police, which was published in 1975. It showed how the Madonna or Whore polarity in attitudes toward women, derived from Australia’s colonial past, had become entrenched and influenced Australia’s subsequent political and social culture.

Anne was given an official leadership role when she ran the federal Office of the Status of Women (now Office for Women) from 1983 to 1986 when Bob Hawke was Prime Minister, and she was an advisor to Prime Minister Paul Keating.

Anne Summers Australian Legends Stamp

Anne Summers Australian Legends Stamp

For her distinctive role in advancing women’s equality, she was presented with the Australian Legends Award for 2011 and joined the exclusive ranks of great Australians to appear on a special Post Office stamp.

In 1989, Anne was made an Officer in the Order of Australia for her services to women and to journalism.

As a journalist and columnist, her work included being Canberra bureau chief for the Australian Financial Review and the paper’s North American editor. She was editor-in-chief of Ms. magazine in New York in 1987. She now writes a regular opinion column for the Sydney Morning Herald.

Three years ago, Anne created Anne Summers Reports www.annesummers.com.au. As its editor and publisher she is now part of a new trend of women publishing online magazines. ASR is a high quality digital magazine that covers a wide range of topics. The August issue highlighted the world-wide practice of female genital mutilation and Nimco Ali’s campaign against it.

Anne is the author of 8 books. Her latest book The Misogyny Factor looks at the sexism and misogyny that continues to deny women inclusion, equality and respect. For her previous books see: www.annesummers.com.au/products/books/

In September 2013 she began her series of very popular Anne Summers Conversations http://www.annesummers.com.au/conversations  with former Prime Minister Julia Gillard at sell-out events in the Sydney Opera House and the Melbourne Town Hall.

 

Anne’s Top 5 Places:

 

Bouddi National Park - Bulimah Spur track - photo John Yurasek

Bouddi National Park – Bulimah Spur track – photo John Yurasek

Wagstaffe and the Bouddi peninsula

On the New South Wales Central Coast. A tiny laid back and undeveloped settlement with just a handful of houses looking out over the bay, with the Bouddi National Park for backdrop and birdlife like you’ve never seen. You want kookaburras to join you on the deck for cocktails? Just pop the cork.

 

 

 

Palm Cove

Palm Cove

Palm Cove

Situated about 30kms north of Cairns in Far North Queensland, Palm Cove is the kind of old-fashioned place that gives resorts a good name. A place where buildings are not allowed to be higher than the ancient Melaleucas which Captain Cook is supposed to have admired when he stopped their briefly to replenish his water supply. And it has city-quality restaurants (unfortunately with city level prices). You can’t swim most of the year because of the stingers but you can’t beat a walk on the beach at any time of the day or night.

 

Sydney - photo Hamilton Lund

Sydney – photo Hamilton Lund

Sydney

I first came to this dazzling city forty years ago and I kept coming back even after stints living in places like New York.  Sydney is a vibrant and physically stunning place with a diverse and (mostly) tolerant population where anything is possible. Bad stuff happens here (as in any big city) but the good far outweighs it. And physically it is unbeatable, with a surprising, and usually stunning, piece of landscape seemingly around every corner and over every horizon.

 

Port Arthur guards 1866 - ALMFA,SLT

Port Arthur guards 1866 – ALMFA,SLT

Port Arthur

The dark heart of our history, the site of an unimaginably cruel penal colony during the convict era and of Australia’s worse modern day mass shooting in 1996.  Much of the prison and its associated buildings, including the chilling prison chapel (designed so convicts could not look at each other during the service) are remarkably intact.

 

 

 

Port Arthur, Tasmania - photo Giovanni Portelli

Port Arthur, Tasmania – photo Giovanni Portelli

Yet Port Arthur is also a remarkably beautiful, green and lush place, nestled beside tranquil water.  Nowhere else in Australia does the phrase ‘her beauty and her terror’ from Dorothea Mackellar’s My Country resonate in quite the way it does here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Australian War Memorial

The Australian War Memorial

Canberra

Our national capital, whose landscape is unlike that of any other Australian city,  and the home of our national monuments, Canberra is a very special place. At least once in their lives everyone should visit the National Gallery of Australia, the National Portrait Gallery, the National Library of Australia, the Museum of Australia, the Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House and the Australian War Memorial. These are not just a bunch of stodgy institutions. Between them, they contain so much of our history and our culture that they are the very heart of our country.

 

Travel tips:

*  Always have a long and engrossing book in your bag as you never know when – or for how long – you might be delayed. And batteries don’t run out on books.

*  Pack lightly.  You really don’t need many clothes when you travel and dragging heavy bags is a sure fire recipe for a bad back and an even worse temper. I once travelled round the world for three weeks with just a small carry on roller bag.

*  Travel should be fun so don’t stress out. Get to the airport in time for a coffee or a cocktail.  And once you get out of Australia, airports in many cities are wonderful places to spend time in. Schiphol, Amsterdam’s airport, even has treasures from the RijksMuseum on display.

*  Look like a jetsetter not a bogan.  Wear smart but comfortable clothes (no trackie dacks please) and even if you are in cattle class just remember that even a 24 hour flight is a helluva lot better than the months’ long sea voyages our ancestors had to endure to go anywhere.

 

Also available in: Chinese (Simplified)